Game of Thrones: S07E04 aka Dragons finally blow shit up Recap & Review

jaime and bronn

Welcome to my first season of reviews of Game of Thrones. I’ve read all the books and have taken a deep dive on the book subreddit so I’ll be writing from the perspective of someone who has read George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire and may reference book theories/spoilers.

This episode is why I started watching the show. Don’t get me wrong, I love all the political intrigue and backstory in the books/show but I 100% started watching because I like titties and dragons blowing things up and we finally got that last part this episode.

stark reunion

I want to start with talking about the battle but I know if I do that I’ll end up just ignoring the rest of the episode so let’s talk about Arya getting back to Winterfell. Saw some people online complaining about the whole guards not letting her in and then her scaring them with “what if I’m actually Arya and you didn’t let me in?” thing and calling it lazy writing but I’m pretty sure those people are just idiots because 1. it’s pretty realistic and 2. it’s a callback to season 1 when Arya got locked out of the Red Keep and the exact same thing happened. If there’s one thing this season is great at is it’s callbacks to the first few seasons so I doubt they’d have Arya go through the same thing twice and not realize they had written a scene just like that. Plus that was the first episode that she was learning water dancing from Syrio (RIPinPeace) and in this episode she water dances with Brienne so I’m going to go with it being intentional.

stark reunion

Also have to say I loved the reunion with all the Stark children. Yes it’s emotional that they’re all seeing each other for the first time in 6 years but people forget that Arya and Sansa never really liked each other that much and the last time they saw each other they literally hated one another. So there’s bound to be some tension still there even if they do truly love one another. Plus as I called (in my head since real life got in the way of writing last week) that Bran isn’t really Bran anymore. When he looked into the trees at the end of last season he was “downloading” all the info from the previous Three-Eyed Raven and it’s definitely fucked with his head – really felt for Meera when she realized that Bran is basically dead now and just cares about stopping the Night King.

ayra and bri

Back in Dragonstone with get Jon and Dany bonding (aka getting ready for the Bone Zone) in a cave where Jon shows her cave paintings from the First Men and the Children of the Forest. I’ve seen a lot of people online upset that they’re heading towards a Dany-Jon marriage because they’re aunt and nephew but I think those complaints are overblown. First, they don’t know they’re related. Second, incestuous marriages were common for the Targs in the show and royalty in real life. Third, marriages make perfect sense for solving both their problems i.e the North accepting a southern Queen and the North becoming part of the Seven Kingdoms again. Fourth, They’re aunt/nephew not brother and sister and while that’s messed up here in 2017 it was pretty common to marry not immediate family members in feudal times in real life and in Westeros too. Off the top of my head I know Jaime, Cersei, and Tyrion’s mother was cousins with their dad so this is pretty common stuff. Book nerd alert here: the original plan was for Jon to end up with Arya which I think would be even weirder since they at least grew up thinking of each other as siblings.

dany and jon

Finally on to the Field of Fire 2.0. I’m pretty torn on it as absolutely incredible as it was to see Drogon fuck up people while the Dothraki proved why they’re the scariest motherfuckers around I’m kind of torn that no one died. This was the first big battle in the series that I actually cared about people on both sides so I was hoping that somehow everyone would survive but now that I got it I feel cheated. I understood that Jaime still has a prophecy to fulfill (or at least does in the books) but Bronn and the Tarly’s should have probably bit the dust this episode. Especially Bronn. I love the guy but he’s long outlasted his book importance and would have made a great sacrifice trying to take out the dragon and failing. Showing that he’s grown since abandoning Tyrion to the Mountain and giving him an epic send off. On the flip side I am glad that Jaime survived and presumably is being capture just so we can get another Tyrion/Jaime scene as those guys are awesome together.

Be sure to follow me on twitter for my exciting Ballers coverage each week @dgood826


One thought on “Game of Thrones: S07E04 aka Dragons finally blow shit up Recap & Review

Leave a Reply

